2021 R-UTN Scholarship Winners

Thanks to the generosity of our members’ donations to the R-UTN Scholarship fund, we were happy to be able to end this pandemic year by presenting scholarships to seven deserving Northport High School seniors. Scholarships were presented to three seniors at the NHS Awards Ceremony, and we also presented scholarships to four children of our UTN colleagues at the UTN Retirement celebration.

We are proud to announce the recipients of this yeas scholarships:

McKenzie Schuvart received the The Fran LaDuca Award in memory of Fran LaDuca, longtime president of the R-UTN. Fran was a library media specialist and a lover of books and literature. The scholarship in her honor was awarded a senior who is seeking a career in education and has a love of literature. McKenzie will be attending the University of South Carolina at Columbia, SC.

McAuley Carroll received the The Ellsworth Welch Award in memory of former Ocean Avenue principal Ells Welch. It was awarded to a senior who plans to pursue a career in education. McAuley will be attending the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Nicole Geres was awarded The R-UTN Memorial Scholarship Award, in memory of our retired colleagues who died during the 2020- 2021 school year. It was also designated for a student who intends to pursue a career in the education. Nicole will attend Sacred Heart University in Connecticut.

The UTN chose the following recipients to receive scholarship awards.

Vincent Gaddis, son of Bellerose Avenue Teacher Janice Gaddis, will be attending the University of Tampa.

Robert Gonzalez, son of NHS Art Department teacher Robin O’ Neill – Gonzalez, will be attending SUNY Plattsburgh.

Thomas McDonagh, son of ENMS teacher Christine McDonagh, will be attending Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Steven Torre, son of NMS teacher Michele Torre, will be attending Colgate University.

Congratulations to all the deserving recipients and their proud families. Again, thank you retired educators for your generous donations to our R-UTN Scholarship Fund.